Skip to content

Preserving Memories

February 1, 2011

It has been bothering me more and more that I have never done any recording sessions of my music for my children to have.  I think I should make that one of my top priorities for the year.  I have worked hard on journaling for the past few years or so, but I think if something were to happen to me, my kids would miss my voice and would want to share that with their children.

An uncle of mine passed away less than a year before I was born, but I was raised listening to his music.  It is one of the things I value most and it makes me feel connected to him.  What a gift that he took the time to make tapes of himself.

A dear friend of mine passed away from cancer years ago.  She was a great performer, but once it spread to her lungs, she couldn’t sing anymore.  I was so sad to hear that the one recording of her had been misplaced.  Her daughter could hardly hold back her tears as she told me that.

Other friends have had vocal damage, wishing they had preserved what they used to sound like.

It’s time for me to get serious, figure out how to use the nifty recording device my brother-in-law sent us, and do it already.  It doesn’t have to be perfect.  I am a perfectionist and I think that’s why I have avoided it for so long.  I just need to do something, then I can work on something up to my standard later.

What have you been putting off?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

