Skip to content

Goody Two Shoes

March 4, 2011

I had the best laugh the other night.  A guy at work said to my husband, “Don’t drink, don’t smoke.  What do you do?”

He seriously had no idea he had just quoted Adam Ant word for word.

It also brought back funny memories of me and my sister.  We would sneak downstairs and quietly watch MTV.  We thought the message of the song was, “Don’t drink!  Don’t smoke!”  As in, “Don’t drink or smoke, kids!”  We thought it was cool that Adam Ant would spread such a moral message.  “Look at him dance!  He’s having fun without the alcohol and cigarettes!” we thought.

During our less rebellious moments, we pretended to baptize each other and played sacrament meeting by tearing up bread and passing it to each other.  I guess you could look at it two ways:

1.  Those little girls sure are into their religion.

2.  Those little girls think women should have the priesthood.

We’re still way into music and our religion today.  :-D  So far we’re not bothered by not having the priesthood, but I do pretend baptize my kids to get them used to going underwater.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 2:31 pm

    I’ve had various people over the years comment about how “sanitized” my life without alcohol and tobacco is, and even more so without coffee and tea. Some of the commentary was something like “Good for you! But I don’t know how you can do it, I couldn’t”, and some of it revolved around how much I was allowing my religion run my life, implying I was in a mind-control cult of some kind.

    Thing is, by age 8 I had concluded that smoking was foolish and firmly decided that I would never ever take up the habit. The LDS church came into my life when I was 15, and just confirmed pretty much everything I had already decided upon with respect to substance abuse of every kind. It was no hard thing to give up the only thing I indulged in, black tea, and there has been no regrets.

    As to “what we do” if we can’t drink or smoke? Has anyone ever noticed that LDS have a higher birth rate than the average? Fact is, we have MORE fun than all the drinkers and smokers in the world. And we also remain more concious while having it! As one great philosopher has said: “Winning!”

  2. March 6, 2011 4:49 pm

    Thank you for sharing, Mike! Even if smoking weren’t bad for your health, I don’t know why anyone would want to spend the money on it. With the history of alcoholism in my family and the devastation it caused, I never had a desire to drink.

Leave a Reply

