Skip to content

Leprechaun’s Day

March 17, 2011

It’s not St. Patrick’s Day in my house.  It’s “Leprechaun’s Day” according to my son.  

When I was a kid, our mom would make homemade bread with green food coloring for our lunch and we would eat green foods for dinner.  I was a little caught off guard when my son entered Kindergarten and suddenly asked me in the evening, “Where’s my treasure?”

Me:  Uhhhhh …… What?

Him:  My teacher said we’re supposed to go hunting for a pot of gold that the Leprechaun leaves us.  We’re supposed to set a trap for him.

Me:  Uhhhhhhhh ……..  Leprechauns are pretend.

Him:  But you just have to believe in Leprechauns!  You just have to!

It was Sunday and since I don’t shop on Sundays, I wasn’t going to run out and buy a bunch of chocolate coins when my son still had leftover candy from Valentine’s Day, Christmas, and Halloween.  I had had enough of the candy.  I say no to another day of candy, especially with Easter right around the corner.

So I put some green food coloring in the toilet and told him, “Look!  We have a naughty Leprechaun!  All he did was pee in our toilet!”  This was meant to make him laugh, which it did initially, but then he was a little afraid to go in the bathroom again.

Now my youngest son is a 1st grader and his teacher has been telling him about all of the exciting things to expect today even though most of the parents I know have never had such a tradition.  He requested Lucky Charms, so I did buy those and we are having a special green dinner that he likes, but after he woke up this morning, he wrote on the calendar under the 17th “is boring”.  I kept telling him to eat his Lucky Charms, but he wanted to sulk.  He finally discovered that the Leprechaun had turned the milk green.

I’m trying to make the day fun, but I refuse to involve candy.  Please, teachers.  Before you invent new traditions for our children, could you maybe send us a warning letter so we know in advance that we will have to stay up until the wee hours of the morning making a trail of green footprints left by a Leprechaun?  I’m begging you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

