Skip to content

Making Chit Chat

March 21, 2011

I was standing in line at the grocery store today when the man behind me said, “I have a lobster.”

I turned around to see a rather rough looking guy with a vodka shirt holding a bag containing a lobster.  Usually I am the one to initiate conversation with random strangers, so it made me smile.  He said he was just so excited because it was on sale and he had never cooked lobster before.  He just had to share.

I laughed, “I’m still excited because I made my first baked brie last night and it was great!  I can’t wait to make it again for friends.”

He said, “Oooooooh!!!  Sounds good!”

By his appearance, you would never guess he was into such fine dining, but looks can be deceiving.  It always makes me happy when people find me approachable and I enjoyed our short exchange.  I doubt he would find it something to blog about, but I found myself thinking again how we are all God’s children, yet we seem to avoid each other a lot.  I think we miss a lot of opportunities to lift each other up.

Another thing I have been pondering.  If somebody cuts me off and I don’t know them, I’m likely to get really mad and make all sorts of assumptions about their motives.  If somebody I know cuts me off on the way to church or something, I laugh because I know it wouldn’t be their intention to be careless or rude. 

I usually assume the best in others, but I could improve upon that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

