Skip to content

O Del Mio Amato Ben

March 25, 2011

I’m not having much luck figuring out the pronunciation for these lyrics, so I went looking on YouTube for help.  I know a guy who speaks Italian, but then so does Pavarotti and probably better.  ;-D  He’s singing about a woman, but I have alternate lyrics to make it a female appropriate song.

O happiness, lost with my beloved!

She is gone now.

But she was my glory and pride.

I search from room to room calling her name

Hope still lives in my heart.

But I search for her in vain!

And tears alone sustain my heart

 

 

Every place seems sad without her

I cannot tell night from day

And fire is like ice to me

Sometimes I try to go my way alone

But a single thought torments me

How shall I live without her?

Life has no meaning without my love

This was helpful, but the way the accompanist plays it kind of bothers me.  I didn’t feel like I could listen to it over and over again, so I went looking for a video featuring a Soprano.

She sings very pretty, but I wasn’t 100% sure her pronunciation was correct.  Also, I’m not feeling the anguish.

So I found this.

Still not loving it.

This one I really liked!  I love her voice and her dynamics. 

Which one is your favorite?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

