Skip to content

Things I Get Excited About Now That I’m Old(er)

April 16, 2011

I remember getting really annoyed at my mom when I was young for telling me she wanted the following for Christmas:

  • A new cheese slicer
  • A spatula
  • An ice cream scooper

I would say, “Mom!  Those things aren’t fun! ”  I felt like they were things used to serve us and it bugged.  But now that I’m way into cooking, I giggle like a school girl when I receive gifts like:

  • A mandolin (for slicing onions and stuff)
  • A food processor (I’m finally going to make my own pesto tonight!)
  • An electric citrus juicer
  • A new non-stick pan

And yes, I would like a new spatula that will be gentle enough on my new pan.  Even more exciting – my fridge is all sparkly because I finally felt motivated to give it a good cleaning this morning before I made a large shopping trip and had to figure out where to put our four gallons of milk.  I now have my first duck ever thawing in the fridge and can’t wait to cook it tomorrow!  I shushed my family while intensely watching a video on how to bone a duck earlier.

This is going to rule.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 11:16 pm

    May my wife and I come by for a bite? Unfortunately, I am sure we live at least a thousand miles away.

Leave a Reply

