Skip to content

Does Facebook Ruin Marriages?

April 19, 2011

I have heard lots of stories lately of marriages breaking up over Facebook, specifically old flames getting back in contact with each other.  Does this make Facebook bad?  I don’t think so.

I’ve heard of old flames contacting each other through e-mail, cell phones, etc.  I don’t blame those things.

Countless affairs have happened in the work place.  Does that mean it’s bad for men and women to work together? 

If I am contacted by an old boyfriend through e-mail, I will kindly write him back and let him know I’m not interested in conversing with him and find it inappropriate.

If I were to go back to work and were invited to lunch with a man, I would politely decline.

If I were sent a friend request on Facebook from an old boyfriend, I would ignore it and possibly block them.  Maybe it would hurt his feelings, but I care about my husband’s feelings more.  Actually, I can’t think of any old boyfriends that I would want to hear from even if I weren’t married.

Like the Internet as a whole, Facebook can be good and bad.  How we use it is important.  My husband and I have access to each other’s accounts so we have peace of mind that nothing questionable is going on.   I can definitely understand why some people would hate the sound of the word “Facebook” though if their spouse strayed due to resuming contact with an old flame.  I can only imagine how much that would hurt.

For the most part, I really like Facebook.  I’m so grateful to be in touch with old friends.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

