Skip to content

I’m Not a Lutheran, But I Play One On Good Friday

April 19, 2011

One of my best friends asked me to join her Lutheran choir on Good Friday because they’re short on second sopranos.  I don’t see why not!  It’s not interrupting any of my Mormon festivities since we don’t observe Good Friday and I do love interfaith experiences.  We’re going to sing John Rutter’s Requiem and I just finished listening to the CD.  Beautiful.  And we get to sing with an orchestra!

I can’t remember if they do “the offering” during this service, but at least I know what it means now, unlike last time.  I felt like such an idiot when the collection plate was passed around and I was unprepared.  My friend sat with her choir laughing at me.  The lady kept motioning towards me with the plate and I kept shaking my head, “No thank you!” 

I’m off to read through my 64 pages of music before we have our rehearsal with the orchestra tomorrow night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

