Skip to content

Digital Cameras Rule

May 5, 2011

Last week my husband dropped off some really old film to be developed – about 8 years old to be exact.

When our second son was born, we had very little money.  I was anxious to see how my photos turned out, but we had to wait because eating was more important.  Then I had another roll of film and another, followed by a few more.  For quite some time, we couldn’t afford to have any of them developed.

By the time we had some money, I thought, “What if they didn’t turn out good?”  So I put it off.  As time went on, I became especially nervous that the entire rolls would be ruined.  I continued to avoid it because if the pictures of my babies didn’t turn out, I would cry.

Well, I cried for joy when my husband came home with some very sweet pictures of our children!  I can’t believe how time just flew by and how I can hardly remember how little they were.  I wish I could hold them all at those ages again.

Having a digital camera has been a huge blessing for me to be able to see instantly how my pictures turned out and not waste money on prints that turned out terrible.  While I wait for money to have them printed, I love that I can enjoy them on my computer and back them up in various ways.  It’s amazing the technology we have and it makes me cry thinking about the many years cameras didn’t even exist.  How hard to be parents back then and not be able to remember so vividly what your babies looked like.

We are a spoiled generation when it comes to preserving family memories.  I like to think that in the next life, we will be able to recall any wonderful memory we want as if we were really there again.  That is my idea of Heaven.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 9:32 am

    Hi Morningstar!

    I completely agree with you about the desire to accurately record everything our children do. In addition, I sometimes wish I could record their sounds better. I’ve found that, when my 17-month-old son makes cute or funny sounds, by the time I’ve got a recording device ready to capture him, he’s switched his attention to my device and starts winging because I won’t let him put it into his mouth :D This often happens with the camera too but I eventually manage to get a few candid shots (see my picasa account https://picasaweb.google.com/nicolasconnault/Joshua3#).

    Drop by my blog once in a while, I’ve just started writing nearly every day and I love it :)

  2. May 8, 2011 9:39 pm

    What a beautiful family! It’s good to hear from you and thanks for letting me know about your new posts. I’ll check more regularly. :)

Leave a Reply

