Skip to content

Scouts vs. Mothers

May 7, 2011

It’s Mother’s Day weekend and my husband and oldest son are away at a big Scouting event.  They are at least sending them home (late) tonight and acknowledged the importance of Mother’s Day, but I don’t think they considered the fact that they will be too exhausted to be of any service to us mothers tonight or tomorrow.

And us mothers who have been working hard on cleaning and organizing, we get to deal with the huge mess that comes home with them.  I have spent this whole week trying to make this place a haven so Mother’s Day will be extra enjoyable.

Also, thanks men for giving us the food assignments the night before the campout.  We women don’t have anything better to do than run out to the store at the last minute.  That’s what I live for.  I love centering my life around your poor planning!!!! 

I need to go plan my women’s retreat for the weekend of the 17th-18th of June.  Oh that’s right.  That’s Father’s Day weekend and I would like to spend that Saturday planning a super sweet breakfast and dinner for my husband.  See how that works?  Notice how I’m not merely gracing my husband with my presence on Father’s Day?

I now get to take my other three children shopping to make sure we have enough food in the house for Mother’s Day.  It will be the highlight of my day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

