Skip to content

Getting in Shape With Wii Fit

May 10, 2011

I’ll spare you my long health history and everything that has made it difficult to stay on a consistent exercise program, but I wanted to share the minor progress I have had in recent months. 

Back in October, I decided I was going to get my kids a Wii for Christmas.  At first it was all about them, but then I remembered my niece and nephew using something called “Wii Fit”.  It looked kind of interesting, but I didn’t try it and I had my doubts about it giving you a real workout.  I read some reviews and they were pretty positive with the exception of those who disliked the voice telling you during your body test that you’re overweight or obese. 

I was really excited when I got Wii Fit for Christmas and it is one of the things we have enjoyed doing as a family.  Since we are motivated to try to beat each other’s scores, that keeps you on there for longer.  At that point, I didn’t take it all that seriously, but then I noticed it praised you for working out for 30 minutes.  I made that my goal, but I was doing some of the easier exercises.  I settled on a target amount of calories to burn, but it took me quite a bit longer than 30 minutes for a while.

So, my new goal was to push myself and get those calories burned in 30 minutes.  I came pretty close, but still needed a couple extra minutes.  I felt like I got a real workout even.  A month or so later, I was burning my calories in less than 25 minutes and thought it was pretty good progress that I didn’t feel like I was going to die.

Last night I decided to step it up and set a new goal – 230 calories in 30 minutes.  I needed one extra minute today, so not bad and I beat my son’s high score on another game.  *grin*

So far my weight has only fluctuated, but I feel noticably stronger and sometimes find myself contemplating a second workout in the evening.  Carrying my freakishly strong two-year-old is even easier, which is great.  I fear injuring myself again, so added strength is awesome.

Now how to deal with my husband who just gave me some Godiva chocolates?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

