Skip to content

Piano Lessons: A Contact Sport

June 23, 2011

One of the lessons I taught this morning sure was interesting.  A boy I teach who has ADD is off his meds and is suddenly claiming that songs he has played before just fine are “too hard”, “too long”, and that he “can’t do it”.  He usually responds well to a system of giving him points after certain accomplishments, but that wasn’t working either.  Today we decided to try small pieces of candy after each song he played willingly.  This went well until he grabbed the candy and ran away to eat it without cooperating.

So I (gently) tackled him and pried the candy from his fingers.  He then told me he couldn’t concentrate while I was holding the candy and said he wouldn’t eat it if I set it on the piano.  Hahahaha.  Nice try.  He continued to protest until I told him I would eat a piece if he didn’t start the song on the count of 5.  He didn’t.  So I ate it.

After that, I got him to play two new songs!  Hide your candy, children.  After his lesson, I told him I had to go home to torture my own children.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 4:40 pm

    Haha, too funny :)

Leave a Reply

