Skip to content

The Book of Mormon Musical

June 28, 2011

There has been a lot of talk about The Book of Mormon Musical and all of the awards it won.  While out with my friends of other faiths Saturday night, one of them asked if I had heard about it.  Ha!  How could I not hear about it?  She said she heard some of the songs and thought they were cute.  I told her I had heard a variety of views on it, including outrage from non-LDS people who don’t understand why it’s OK to mock our religion when no one would dare make such a musical about Jews or Muslims.

Others have said we shouldn’t comment if we haven’t seen it.  Poking fun at our religion isn’t what offends me most.  Someone mentioned that the F-bomb is directed at God and that’s not something I want to hear and I’m certainly not going to pay money to hear Him treated in that way.  Making silly, inaccurate jokes about my religion is one thing, but that I can’t tolerate.   Our Article of Faith number thirteen says this:

13aWe believe in being bhonest, true, cchaste, dbenevolent, virtuous, and in doing egood to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we fhope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to gendure all things. If there is anything hvirtuous, ilovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.

Mormons typically have a great sense of humor and frequently poke fun at ourselves, but I think there are too many issues in The Book of Mormon Musical that aren’t praiseworthy.  It’s too bad, because I do love a good laugh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

