Skip to content

Simple Joys

July 3, 2011

Yesterday was a very full and wonderful day.  A friend’s mom gave us some much needed furniture, the sun was shining, and I took my kids strawberry picking.  While we drove to a local farm, the scenery was gorgeous and I listened to my 7-year-old son read a book about families to my daughter.  I thought about how happy it makes me to be a mom and amazed again that I gave birth to four children.  Before I was a mom, I never understood how women went through that more than once.  I asked a mother of five, “How did you do that?”  She said, “One at a time.  When God prompted me to have our last child, I cried and cried.”  Of course, she was thrilled to have her son.  It’s just such a hard thing to go through.

I thought about my mixed emotions.  I miss holding my kids as babies and their years as toddlers, but there is also so much joy in watching them learn and grow.  To hear my son reading to his sister was such a sweet experience.  This week my growing boys have also helped me with some projects I just couldn’t do on my own like hauling our old TV to the van.  It makes them feel proud and I am grateful to have so many able bodies around here!  When we got home from church, two of my sons were eager to help me get started on dinner and treats we were making for friends.

We don’t have a lot of money, but we are happy and there are so many experiences to enjoy together.  It’s hard to imagine that the day will come when my children will all move away.  I don’t want that day to come, but they look forward to their futures and having their own families.  A couple days ago, my 8-year-old decided to make pancakes on his own and after successfully doing so, he said, “Now I can make them for my own kids when I grow up.” 

I love Summer.  It gives me so much more time to relax and enjoy things with my kids without the pressure of getting them out the door and homework done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 7:56 pm

    It’s the small things that matter most :) Let’s never take them for granted!

Leave a Reply

