Skip to content

Automatic Blood Pressure Monitors

July 26, 2011

Maybe a health care professional out there can address this issue.

Whenever I go to the doctor and they use a regular monitor, my blood pressure is consistently great.  But when the automatic blood pressure monitor is forced upon me and it literally bruises my arm with its iron death grip, surprise!  My blood pressure is suddenly higher than it has ever been.  I know it needs to get to a certain tightness, but this is beyond pressure.  It’s PAIN.  I am at the point that I would prefer a blood draw to this torture device.  And lest you think I’m a wuss, I’ve given birth four times with no drugs of any kind.

It’s not like it’s causing me permanent damage, but could it be it’s giving an inaccurate reading?  Or could it be that it aggravates me enough to momentarily raise my blood pressure?  During my very prolonged labor with my son, 9 times out of 10, the monitor went off just as a contraction was starting and I almost ripped it off and threw it across the room.

I have an appointment tomorrow.   My doctor’s office recently switched to the automatic monitor and I’m not happy.  I’m wondering how annoyed they will be if I request the old method.  I don’t think they get just how much that thing ticks me off and ruins the relaxed state I have achieved when I first get there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 2:59 pm

    I completely agree with you on this. These automatic readers are true torture instruments. I think you’re totally justified in asking for a manual reading. In any case, a single blood pressure reading cannot be relied upon, they’re supposed to take at least 2 at different times to control for normal daily fluctuations.

Leave a Reply

