Skip to content

Dear Rachel From Card Services

August 9, 2011

Dear Rachel From “Card Services”:

Over the last couple years, I have really come to look forward to your pre-recorded messages telling me that you want to lower my interest rate on my credit card and not to worry, there is currently no problem with my card.  Today you gave me the option to press 3 to discontinue your calls or 1 to speak to a representative about your offer.

I pressed 1.

So I asked your representative which card you were calling about.  He said, “Either your Visa, Master, or Discover card”.

I said, “Yeah, but which one?”

He hung up on me.

This was slightly less fun than the time I immediately told your rep, “You belong in jail.”

Today you called from (561) 210-4361.  I wonder which number you’ll use next time?  I’m on the edge of my seat waiting!  I’m going to see if I can keep your rep on the phone for a full 30 seconds.  Maybe I’ll ask him if he can call me back and I’ll give him the number to the FCC!

Hugs and kisses,

MorningStar

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 5:40 pm

    Hilarious :-)

    Here’s something else you could try:

    “I need to inform you that this call is being monitored and recorded for litigation purposes. If you agree with these terms, please say YES now.”

    I used to have a rule that if the caller doesn’t know my name, I will hang up. My name isn’t “Owner of this telephone line”, after all!

    In Australia we have a service with which we can register our land lines and cell phones, to “opt out” of this kind of phone calls. Since we’ve registered with them, we haven’t had a single call.

    Too bad, I sort of miss them :)

  2. August 9, 2011 5:47 pm

    Haha!!!! Yes, we have the Do Not Call Registry, but since this isn’t a real company, they don’t obey such laws. It’s also illegal to call people using prerecorded messages.

    I think I’m going to string them along next time – give them a fake name and act like I’m going to give them my credit card number. But I’ll have all kinds of inconvenient distractions. Also, I’m going to tell them my current rate is 3%, so I’m really excited about it being lowered even more. When I finally get around to giving them my number, it will be, “1 ……………………… 2 ………………………… 3 …………………………” I doubt they’ll make it past 3.

Leave a Reply

