Skip to content

I’m MorningStar and I’m a Mormon

October 13, 2011

I don’t have TV reception since it went digital, but people are starting to comment on the latest Mormon commercials.  One friend said that she’s not in the know anymore because she left the church, but she wanted to know about the “PR push”, adding that the commercials are too easy to make fun of.

Well, people are going to make fun of us no matter what.  People are going to make fun of us even if they don’t understand who we are.  I mean, they made a broadway musical to make fun of us!  And people spent their hard earned money to witness it.  And like usual, people are calling us a cult.

I’ve seen some of the commercials online and have been touched by them.  I love seeing the diversity among our members all over the country and the world.

I would love to see commercials from other faiths too.  It sure beats the beer commercials, Victoria’s Secret commercials, condoms, phone sex ads, oh, I mean “dating ads”, etc.  But having to hear about a Mormon’s life for 30 seconds?  Blech!  ;P  How terrible for everyone!

This is basically how it’s going to go now.  If you blog unkind things about the church, we will blog good things.  If you Tweet, we’ll Tweet.  If you Facebook, we’ll Facebook.  Put up a giant billboard in Times Square about The Book of Mormon Musical?  We’ll put up a giant ad about The Book of Mormon itself.  We’re not doormats.

I’m MorningStar.  I’m a wife.  I’m a mom.  I make my best friends laugh until they pee their pants/cry.  I teach people to play the piano and sing.  I bring tears to their eyes with my voice.  I stand up for what’s moral.  I do everything I can to help someone in need even when I don’t have much.  I ruin loved ones’ diets with my delicious cooking.  I can’t sew to save my life.  And I’m a Mormon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

