Skip to content

Halloween Etiquette

October 31, 2011

I would love to have a discussion here about Halloween Etiquette.

How old is too old to trick or treat?

If a child is sick, is it OK for a parent to trick or treat on their behalf?

Should a sibling ask for extra candy for a sick sibling?

Tonight on Facebook, I exchanged some entertaining stories with friends.  I had exactly three trick or treaters and they were all at least 14, two of which had no costume on.  The other one had only cat whiskers drawn on.

This is the way I see it.  I give you candy in exchange for entertaining me with a awesome costume.  If you have no costume, you come off as having a sense of entitlement.  It also means you’re not really that into Halloween anymore.  That is the point that you are too old.  Go buy your own candy if you’re not going to fully participate in the holiday.  I would give a grown man candy if he were wearing a costume over a non-costume wearing teenager who doesn’t bother to get off of their cell phone, actually say the words “Trick or treat”, and certainly not “thank you”.  That was my friend’s experience tonight.

Another teen had to snuff out their cigarette before approaching their doorstep.  Uh, you can buy your own cigarettes?  THEN BUY YOUR OWN CANDY!!!!

Years ago while visiting a friend, a mom came to the door and laughed, “Trick or treat!  I have a sick kid in the car.”

This is my opinion, but maybe others feel differently.  Maybe they feel Mom was doing her best to make the day wonderful for her ill child.  But I feel like disappointment is a part of life.  When I was sick on Halloween, my mom bought candy and gave it to me.  She even bought me extra treats like a caramel sundae from McDonald’s because she felt bad I missed my class party.  She did not approach the doors of strangers expecting free candy.  I gave this woman such a stunned look, I wondered if she would go to any other houses after that.  There were also multiple kids asking for extra candy because their siblings were sick.  That’s sweet, but then that kid is going to bring home way more candy than they need and they can easily share the loot.

My oldest son was sick and missed school today.  One of the teens at our door said, “Why aren’t you trick or treating?”  I said, “He’s sick.”  She said, “I would still trick or treat if I were sick.”  I said, “Not if you didn’t go to school ……”  I told my son last night, “If you don’t go to school, you can’t go trick or treating.”  I did make the day pleasant for him with pumpkin ice cream and his favorite candies vs. the stuff he would give me out of the kindness of his heart (you know, the candy he can’t stand).

What’s your opinion?  Do you agree with my friend who told the teens tonight, “No costume, no candy.”  ?  Last year she made them do a dance for her.  If I recall correctly, it was “I’m a Little Teapot”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 12:10 am

    great pumpkin carve! i love it :)

Leave a Reply

