Skip to content

Payday

February 2, 2012

Let’s say payday comes and your boss forgets to give you your check or tells you they will just pay you next week. You have bills to pay and grocery shopping you need to do.  You would probably freak out, right?  I can’t imagine anyone tolerating their employer telling them, “I didn’t feel like coming in today, so I’ll just pay you when I get back, OK?”  

So what makes people think that it’s OK to pay their piano teacher late?  I rely on my income just like anyone else and plan my budget according to when I am supposed to get paid.  If you forget your money, run back and get it.  If you want to reschedule your lesson, arrange to have payment dropped off at the expected time.  

If your piano teacher comes to your home and they have a tight schedule, please have the check ready and don’t make them ask for it.  Having to hang around for an extra five minutes while you find your checkbook is very frustrating.  Not that we don’t enjoy your company, but we want to be as punctual as possible for our next lesson.  If we’re going home, we also want to be courteous to our families who need us.

There’s a reason we typically make people pay in advance for the month.  You are a lot more likely to collect the lessons you paid for than we are to collect the money from the month of lessons we just gave you.  A lot of people are put off by that, but that’s how it goes with any lesson you sign your child up for.

And to those who pay their teachers promptly without being asked, thank you!  Your make our job so much more pleasant and we know we are valued.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 1:19 pm

    As the daughter of a piano teacher (and an occasional violin teacher myself) I totally feel you on this one. My mom makes her students pay for the entire semester up front (she makes it more expensive if they don’t).

    • February 2, 2012 1:31 pm

      Thank you! My son has been learning violin at school and loves it. I wish he could take private lessons (which I would pay for promptly). ;-D

Leave a Reply

