Skip to content

A Bad Assumption

May 18, 2012

I’m learning a hard lesson right now.  We have started looking for a home and because so many friends have used this one realtor, naturally he must be really great at his job, right?  Or do these people just think he must be trustworthy because he’s Mormon? 

A friend of mine now regrets referring me to this realtor and lender because of the way they pressured my husband and I this weekend.  She never had issues because she and her husband have a pretty high income, so the search isn’t as difficult and if they’re a little picky, these guys know it’s going to pay off big in the end.

As for my husband and I, we don’t make that much money and we are going to have to search harder for the right place and right price.  Perhaps it won’t be worth a long, hard search to him.

So after he showed us exactly one house on Saturday night, after he was an hour late, he proceeded to ignore our concerns about the house and anything we didn’t like about it, trying to convince us it was the only house we would see for that price in that area, and that we could afford the payment that came out to be $200 higher than our lender lead us to believe. 

I looked around at the off white and yellow appliances, considered our modest savings account, and knew it would only take a couple of incidents to cause us to turn to our credit card again.  That dishwasher would be toast if it wasn’t already.  How long until my van breaks down?  How long until my husband’s truck needs new tires?  Those cost over $1,000.  The windows were obviously in need of being replaced too, but our realtor told us the price was firm.  The house wasn’t worth it with all of the problems that came with it.  His solution wasn’t to ask them to come down in price.  He asked us, “Where can you cut your spending?”  I don’t know how we could cut it more. 

We wanted to see a short sale about two minutes away and he blew it off.  We had come all that way and waited for him for an hour.  Couldn’t he have humored us?  I told him before we made any offers, we needed to hear back from the lender and needed an explanation as to how he arrived at the estimated payment.  He never did answer the question, but he did send us some charts and graphs to show us why it makes sense to buy over renting.  That’s not what we asked for.  To add insult to injury, he brought my mom into it.  “If your mom got sick, think of how much money you would save on gas if you lived close to her.”

Before we even entered the house, the realtor asked if we had been praying about it.  Prayer is good, but I found the question inappropriate and not professional.  In my profession, I don’t ask people to pray about whether I’m the right choice.  I tell them my price and policies and let them decide however they choose to. 

I was even more shocked to hear that a mutal friend used this realtor and they had to go around him to negotiate the price because he wouldn’t do it.  They contacted the seller themselves and got $20,000 knocked off.  How ridiculous that he even got paid for that transaction.

So now we’re trying to figure out how to let him down gently without causing any controversy among our mutual friends who think he’s great at what he does.  Maybe he is best as a listing agent where the focus is on getting as high a price as possible.  My parents have a friend who is an agent, but we don’t want additional awkwardness.  If someone is going to rub us the wrong way, we would rather it be someone we have no personal connection to. 

I spent my Mother’s Day emotionally drained because the two of them called us past 11pm so they could both try to convince us to make an offer on the house.  They insisted our payment would be equal to our rent when we factor in the tax deduction.  I beg to differ.  I told them it wouldn’t make a difference until tax time and that we would only have deductions for half the year.  They suggested we change our withholdings, but that wasn’t going to produce anywhere near that amount either.

I’m told there really are some good realtors out there.  I hope we can find one.  I don’t know how much of this I can take.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2012 5:47 am

    I feel your pain, Sister :-) But I wish I could feel your joy from time to time too! Your blog entries have been a bit negative of late, I hope you’re OK…

    • May 18, 2012 2:52 pm

      Thanks, Nicolas. Things have just been stressful and busy! So many things weighing on me right now, but there is good too. I’m trying to have faith that everything will work out somehow.

  2. June 12, 2012 4:49 pm

    I hope you have seen many more houses in the last month and are closer to finding one that “feels right” in every way.

    • June 12, 2012 5:37 pm

      Thank you. Our strategy right now is to be patient for something close by or save some more so we can afford to move away. There’s a fixer in town that we like, but the deadbolt is broken and we can’t get in to see it. We’re hoping that will be the one and my husband is very handy. :)

Leave a Reply

