Skip to content

The Internet Ate My Blog Post

November 9, 2012

So I started two posts recently, one about the horror of being fitted for a bra and the other about the election.  The election post was eaten after I tried posting a funny video to go with it.  I will vow to finish the one that didn’t get eaten.

Life has been very busy.  My oldest son started middle school and I volunteer at orchestra at a grade school every morning at 7:30am.  I love to help with that.  The second level kids have a special place in my heart.  The first level kids are growing on me, but there are some stinkers in there!  Every morning I have to tell the same three kids to stop sword fighting with each other, stop rough housing so they won’t land on any instruments, to get in their places and completely ready so we can start on time, and one of them was hanging his violin from the stand by the scroll and started trying to play it that way.  AAAAAAAAAHHHH!!!!  I’m about ready to tell them, “Hey, this video I’m taking of you?  Yeah, I’m sending it to your parents.”

Another girl obviously has a disorder and she can’t play any songs, won’t accept any help, and scowls at you like she hates your guts any time you tell her to do something or stop doing something.  The teacher said, “Stop holding your bow like that.”  She snapped, “I’m not holding it like that!”  She can’t play a D scale or any songs at all.  She told me, “I know enough.”  I don’t know if her mom thought this class would spark some kind of change in her or if it’s cheaper than day care, but she’s disrupting the kids behind her as she makes her music stand fall over intentionally.  This morning she was turning around and kissing her violin, putting the scroll in her mouth.  I spend most of my time trying to deal with her rather than help other kids who actually want to play the violin.

After that, I run home for my new carpool, spend the day with my daughter, planning for my music students, teaching in the afternoons, making dinner, and helping my 5th grader with his way too hard homework.  For instance:

A slug can travel 10 inches in one hour.  If he has to rest every 3 feet for 30 minutes, how long will it take to travel 8 feet?

And this one:

There are 50 lockers.  All of them are closed.  The first student opens every locker.  The second student closes every second locker.  The third student opens every third locker.  The fourth student closes every fourth locker.  Repeat the pattern until 50.  Which lockers are open and which ones are closed?  My son was bawling because he found it so difficult and he had a music concert last night.  He also had his nightmarish geography homework on Halloween.

Speaking of, Halloween was awesome and the most fun I had in a long time.  :-D

So how are you doing?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

